SP3 DAC

Discuss Bryston's SP3 surround processor

SP3 DAC

by guyguay » Thu Dec 25, 2014 1:53 pm

HI everyone

Someone can tell me what is the DAC inside the SP3

is it the same as the BDA-1

Anyone tried and compare the SP3 DAC vs the BDA-2

let me know

Martin
guyguay
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: SP3 DAC

by guyguay » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:44 pm

Anyone please
guyguay
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: SP3 DAC

by stanb » Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:17 pm

Yes, SP3 uses the same part as in BDA1 - CS4398. BDA1 in addition uses a sample rate converter chip which reduces time jitter. BDA2 uses AK4399. They have very comparable specifications.
Regards,
Stan
stanb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:07 pm
Location: Bryston

Re: SP3 DAC

by guyguay » Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:36 pm

If i add a BDA-2, will i gain quality

if i don't want to use hdmi (BDA-2 vs BDA-3)

Martin
guyguay
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: SP3 DAC

by stanb » Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:53 pm

Can't compare BDA2 vs BDA3 because it is in the future.
BDA2 vs SP3 - BDA2 has the advantage of supporting high speed high resolution USB streaming (but not DSD), BDA2 has a sample rate converter chip which reduces jitter and also AK4399 DAC chip has slightly higher specs than CS4398. Advantage of SP3 is that it supports multichannel sources (up to 7.1).
Stan
stanb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:07 pm
Location: Bryston

Re: SP3 DAC

by guyguay » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:54 pm

thank you
guyguay
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:49 pm


Return to SP3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron