Tidal

Modern BDP firmware available as a stable release since June 2014. Compatible with all BDP hardware.

Tidal

by Chris Rice » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:58 pm

With the initial feature set for the BOT wrapping up and just testing for bugs left we have begun developing Tidal support for the Manic Moose firmware. We can't do much as of yet, but future beta's will include what work we have done, those interest can keep track of the work we have done by entering the following urls.

http://<bdp's ip>/bryston/tidal

This URL will function with any beta released in Febuary 2015 onward, updates to what features work will be posted in the RELEASE notes (README) found on the update firmware page.

Cheers,
Chris
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:43 pm

Next beta will have Tidal playback from your Tidal account, but the interface will be very limited and incredibly crude.

Cheers,
Chris
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:04 pm

Tidal support is coming along well just two big hurtles left i believe. The first is just time consuming and that is building controller for the BDP, although this is just going to take time and should poise any significant resistance in development. Second, is streaming, although streaming work the first 10 or 15 seconds is a little "jittery", but once it gets going its fine until the stream is interrupted by user interfaction (pause, next track, etc).

Will be releasing a Beta tonight for those interested in trying it out, just be warned this is by no means a finished product and won't be for a month or two. There isn't even an icon for it, you'll need to navigate to the page by url.

http://<bdp's ip address>/bryston/tidal

Cheers,
Chris
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:24 am

its posted!!!!!!
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:52 am

At this point things are going smooth enough that you can expect added tidal support with the goal of having a finnished interface in the near future, no later then summer 2015. Check the release notes for manic moose for further updates
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:28 pm

Did someone get this to work?
It seems it’s not accepting my password. Yes it is correct, and accepted on other devices . All I get is a 'got jack' message, combined with incorrect username or password message.
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:38 am

Wim J wrote:Did someone get this to work?
It seems it’s not accepting my password. Yes it is correct, and accepted on other devices . All I get is a 'got jack' message, combined with incorrect username or password message.



I came across two faults in the code used for loging and starting a session, the issues have been identified and a fix will be released tomorrow. We didn't catch it due to we already have our username and passwords entered and it only occurs with firmware introduced this week involving units that have never been logged into tidal.
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:21 pm

Chris Rice wrote:
Wim J wrote:Did someone get this to work?
It seems it’s not accepting my password. Yes it is correct, and accepted on other devices . All I get is a 'got jack' message, combined with incorrect username or password message.



I came across two faults in the code used for loging and starting a session, the issues have been identified and a fix will be released tomorrow. We didn't catch it due to we already have our username and passwords entered and it only occurs with firmware introduced this week involving units that have never been logged into tidal.


Ok, logging in now works correctly (13FEB15 release).
Some things I noticed when playing around with Tidal on the BDP-1:
- repeat function always active, when a song is selected, it keeps repeating. The repeat symbol is highlighted and ths can not be changed by clicking on it.
- Als playback quality can not be changed . It's always on LOW but when Iook at the bitrates I'm quite sure it's playing lossless.
I realize this is a work in progress But these two thing I noticed. A lot of other things are not working as well, but those are definitely 'work in progress '-issues.
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Mon Feb 16, 2015 10:56 pm

the repeat feature isn't functional as of yet. i suspect your misreading the settings page.
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:21 am

Chris Rice wrote:the repeat feature isn't functional as of yet. i suspect your misreading the settings page.

Strange, because I can't put it OFF! It keeps repeating the Tidal-song I selected. I manually have to select the next song in the playlist/album, or when the next song is in another playlist or album I have to stop the song and go to the next playlist an select the next song.
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Next

Return to Manic Moose: BDP Firmware S2.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron