Tidal

Modern BDP firmware available as a stable release since June 2014. Compatible with all BDP hardware.

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:18 pm

Before going to sleep yesterday evening I programmed about 80 tracks in the Tidal playlist (mplayer, lossless, USB). So if everyting was ok it should still have been playing this morning. But this morning the BDP1 was not playing and again in a kind of pause position, and I had to reboot it to become responsive again. So 2015-2-26 is a big step forward, but there's still some work to do. I'll keep you informed if I'm able to pinpoint 'the problem' to specific actions.

Wim
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:12 pm

downloaded version 2015-03-03 today. This went smooth. A few remarks concerning the Tidal interface. When a song last for example 3 minutes and 7 seconds the userinterface displays 3:7 in stead of 3:07.
It takes a long while for the BDP1 to be operational since MM 2.10 much longer than the LL releases.

Wim
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Tidal

by slanski62 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 3:53 pm

I hope I'm not hijacking the thread, but how do I access Tidal? I have an account. In the Manic Moose app, I can't find anything that allows me to select Tidal. What am I missing? Thanks for any help.

Steve
slanski62
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 3:03 pm

Re: Tidal

by Wim J » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:07 pm

Read the first post in this topic,... You have to add /tidal in your adressbar. It's all still beta!
Wim J
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Tidal

by lostsoul » Sat Mar 21, 2015 4:09 pm

I need some help with TIDAL playback. I downloaded S2.11 2015-03-20 but playback does not always work. It works mostly with LOW or HIGH quality settings, but sometimes it does not even start with LOSSLESS.
Login is successful, I add a song in the playlist and I press PLAY, the state changes to "stop" after 2-3 seconds. Playback method is mplayer, playback device: ESI Juli@;ICE1724 IEC958;0;1

random: 0
repeat: 0
single: -1
consume: -1
playlist: 45
playlistlength: 1
xfade: -1
mixrampdb: -1
mixrampdelay: -1
state: stop
song: 0
nextsong: 1
songid: -1
time: 0:215
elapsed: 0.0
cache: 0
buffer: -1
bitrate: 13

Another unsuccessful playback attempt. The state after pressing PLAY:
random: 0
repeat: 0
single: -1
consume: -1
playlist: 12
playlistlength: 1
xfade: -1
mixrampdb: -1
mixrampdelay: -1
state: stop
song: 0
nextsong: 1
songid: -1
time: 1:254
elapsed: 0.8
cache: 0
buffer: -1
bitrate: 2

This also happens with LOW or HIGH quality, although not so frequently.
Then I realized MPD works better than mplayer so I started using that.
Is there a logfile for TIDAL playback? How will I know if playback stops due to slow network connection?
What does the number for 'bitrate' mean for lossless?
I suppose you meant to display "You're Listening To TIDAL".
Also the menu for System Log stopped working. It shows "MPD" only, but nothing happens when I click on it.
Please let me know why playback stops sometimes at the beginning of a song (never in the middle).
MPD works much more reliably than mplayer.

Thanks,
Attila
lostsoul
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Tidal

by lostsoul » Sat Mar 21, 2015 8:10 pm

OK, things are not as bad as I first found. I tested TIDAL for hours and found that lossless playback works most of the time. 8-) Now and then (once or twice in about 10 songs) playback jumps to the next song in the playlist. Sometimes 3-4 songs are skipped.

Would it be possible to
- make a bigger (maybe selectable) buffer size
- improve the playback not to skip a song, instead it should start prebuffering the stream while the playback pauses and restart playback when the buffer is filled from the remote server

Thanks,
Attila
lostsoul
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:24 am

It shouldn't be a buffering issue if it's able to play the first song. The current method of buffering works as follows, nothing is buffered until you push play.

You push play or click a song or in some way initiate playback.
The BDP figures out what the current song should and the next song (based on if repeat or shuffle or on or off)
The BDP begins to buffer the first few KB before playback begins
Playback starts
Once the BDP is done downloading the current song it begins buffering the next into system memory
Once playback of the current song is done the next one to be played is either already downloaded or about to be done downloading into system memory(on our 10mb fibre line the second song is usually done within 60seconds of pushing play)
Either way the BDP figures out what the next song should be and begins playing the former next song and begins downloading the new next song.
This loop allows us to begin the next song within a few thousand micro seconds (havn't actually timed it, but based on the code and the time taken to ensure the file is available it's best guess); either way it feels hapless to me.
The BDP will attempt to buffer the song ten times before giving up and the whole process of buffering starts over once the current song is done downloading.

This is what's likley occurring, although there is no way knowing for sure unless I can look at the logs and the logs arn't easily accessible due to the nature of the content. You'll need to place the BDP into service mode when I have a moment to take a look.

And MPD playback of Tidal is totally disabled at this time as per the release notes.

Cheers
Chris
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by lostsoul » Wed Mar 25, 2015 7:58 pm

Hi Chris,

Yes, I have seen in the log file that MPD playback is disabled, so if I set MPD in S2.11 2015-03-20, MPlayer is used?
Today it was a big disappointment, because TIDAL playback did not work at all (tried both MPD and MPlayer at LOSSLESS).
Not a single song was played, not even the first one in the playlist. All songs were skipped, sometimes the first 0.5 second was played back, then jumped to the next song in the playlist. Why is that? My network connection is not that slow. Maybe I need to log out and log in to TIDAL again? (I'll try this next time)
I can log in to the BDP-2 using ssh and send you any log file (or output of a command) you want, please let me know what you'd like to see in a PM.

Thanks,
Attila
lostsoul
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Tidal

by Chris Rice » Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:08 pm

The functions that determine to use mplayer vs mod have all been programmed to return mplayer regardless of whats set. It would be best if you just placed the BDP into service mode and email me the service id so i can take a closer look then what any of the log files could show. Not to mention some logs clear after they move onto the next song.

Cheers,
Chris

crice[at]bryston[dot]com
Bryston Ltd.
Engineer
User avatar
Chris Rice
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Tidal

by Rhassle » Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:56 pm

Hi Chris:
I have the latest firmware
S2.11 2015-03-24
Build: Manic Moose
MPD: 0.18.21 NEWS
Kernel: 3.16-0.bpo.2-486

Tried Tidal and the login/password fields are all jacked and I cannot seem to login. I typed my username and hit tab to get to the password field (no other way to get there) typed in password, hit enter and nothing. Tried hitting a tab before I hit enter and that didn't work either.

I tried both Chrome and IE 11. Looks jacked in both browsers.

I would love to get this working. Might be just the ticket.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'll email a screen snap so you can see what I mean.

Cheers

Richard
Rhassle
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:03 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Manic Moose: BDP Firmware S2.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron