USB vs eSATA connection

Comus

15-07-2017 21:17:06

Hi folks,

Newbie here; first post.

I've read that the internal drive in the BDP-2 is connected via eSATA. Would this mean, then, it would be preferable to connect external drives (that have both USB and eSATA outputs) via eSATA as well? I have an OWC Mercury Elite Pro SSD that offers both options; it also has its own power supply.

Q: Would a self-powered external SSD connected via eSATA offer better SQ than via USB? [Btw, I mention 'self-powered' only because I presume (perhaps erroneously) eSATA drives don't draw power from the host device via the cable, as with USB?]

Thank you in advance.

Cheers

Chris Rice

16-07-2017 15:57:08

Hello

Yes any device using esata would require an external power source, however if you intend to use the internal sata hookup a power source is provided. There shouldn't be any noticeable difference in sound quality due to how the BDP operates.

Cheers
Chris

Comus

16-07-2017 22:12:41

Thank you, Chris.

The ONLY reason I'm considering an external eSATA drive is because (from what I've read elsewhere in this forum) it's seems much easier to transfer/rename/edit/delete folders and files by plugging the external drive directly into my Mac, as opposed to trying to accomplish this with the internal drive. Is that a correct assessment? If it is, I'd much rather take the easier route. (Easier for me, anyway, as I'm an incorrigible Machead who doesn't know how to even boot up a PC; given that Bryston's stuff is Linux(?)-based, I'd rather avoid any PC-like protocols/procedures.)

Thank you.

Cheers

Comus

16-07-2017 23:38:18

Chris,

Btw, my reasoning for taking the eSATA route as opposed to USB [my SSD offers both options]: