Loose Optical Connections

Discuss Bryston's BDA-2 DAC

Loose Optical Connections

by Vince » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:13 am

Hi guys,

I'm just wondering if anyone else has loose optical toslink connections on their BDA-2? Both of my won't lock the cable in, so whenever I move anything behind the tv the cables come out really easily.

To Bryston support team:

I've asked my retailer AFA audio here in Singapore to replace the connectors, it's been well over a month and they're saying the connectors have still not arrived in Singapore yet. Could you please shed some light on this? The retailer just keeps saying that he'll call when they come in, but I can't see why they should take so long.

Cheers,
Vince
Vince
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Loose Optical Connections

by Gary Dayton » Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:49 am

Hi Vince,

Thanks for owning our DAC, and sorry for the trouble. I have a BDA-2 and use the TOSLINK connectors with a Wireworld glass-optical toslink as well as cheap plastic ones and note in all cases the connection is as firm as one could expect from a small plastic terminal. Have you tried yours with different cables in order to troubleshoot?

I will forward notice of your request for new connectors to our service coordinator to make sure he's aware of your pending problem.

Best regards,
Gary
--Gary / Bryston
User avatar
Gary Dayton
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:09 pm

Re: Loose Optical Connections

by Vince » Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:15 am

Hi Gary,

Thanks for the reply. I'm using one by Supra and a second cheap one, and they both loosely lock into Opto1 but both don't lock at all into Opto2. When I took it to AFA he found the same thing with his cable, it barely locks into one but not at all into the other.

Cheers,
Vince
Vince
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Loose Optical Connections

by Gary Dayton » Thu Oct 16, 2014 2:06 pm

Hi Vince,

I verified with our service coordinator that we sent new toslink housings to the service center your distributor uses a couple of weeks ago, so I expect your issue will be resolved very shortly. Thanks again.
--Gary / Bryston
User avatar
Gary Dayton
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:09 pm

Re: Loose Optical Connections

by Vince » Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:38 am

Hi Gary,

Many thanks for following up on the issue, they replaced the parts last week. Thanks again.

Cheers,
Vince
Vince
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Loose Optical Connections

by guyguay » Sat Jan 17, 2015 2:08 pm

On the BDA-3, Why not add a second AES/EBU input ?

I Have a BCD-1 and a BDP-2 and there is only 1 XLR input

I will have to plug the cd into my SP3 with AES/EBU

If not i will have to buy another cable (S/PDIF)

Can you add the BDA-3 in the main forum

Martin
guyguay
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:49 pm


Return to BDA-2 DAC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron